A Climate to Thrive is an initiative of and for the communities of Mount Desert Island

BOARD of Directors

Johannah Blackman, Co-Chair - Mount Desert. Assistant Artistic Director, New Surry Theatre & Performing Arts School.

Kate Macko, Co-Chair - Town Hill. Jackson Laboratory, Research Program Administrator for their NCI-designated Cancer Center. Serves on the boards of the Acadia Family Center in Southwest Harbor and the Land & Garden Preserve in Seal Harbor.

Kevin Buck, Vice-Chair - Tremont. Chair of Board of Selectman, Town of Tremont; retired from telecommunications industry, builder of energy efficient housing, former VP, Village Green Arts Association

Christopher Stevenson, Treasurer - Mount Desert. Director of Administration and Finance. Mt. Desert Land and Garden Preserve; mediator; consultant; prior experience as attorney practicing environmental, natural resources, and real property law

Dennis Kiley, Secretary - Mount Desert. Therapist in private practice; counselor at College of the Atlantic; member of the Planning Board, Town of Mount Desert; member of the Town of Mount Desert Sustainability Committee

Ken Colburn - Bar Harbor. Principal of Regulatory Assistance Project; Former Air Director for New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services; Climate/Energy speaker at Kyoto Protocol meetings

John Craigo - Bar Harbor. Physical therapist, Mount Desert Island Hospital; former member of the boards of Healthy Acadia, MDI YMCA, and Kids Corner Community Day Care Center

Gary Friedmann - Bar Harbor. President of Gary Friedmann & Associates (Nonprofit Development Consultants); Chair of Bar Harbor Town Council; President of Maine Citizens for Clean Elections; Treasurer of Friends of Baxter State Park

Glenon Friedmann - Bar Harbor. Farmer at Bar Harbor Community Farm; former County Coordinator for Women, Work & Community; former Chair of Mount Desert Island School Committee

Margaret Jeffery - Bar Harbor. Lawyer, Law Office of Margaret T. Jeffery with a focus on Real Estate; Margaret is a multi-generational Mainer. She and her husband have raised three sons on Mount Desert Island

Dr. Steven Katona - Bar Harbor. Founding faculty member of the College of the Atlantic, who served as a professor of biology and Director of Allied Whale until becoming President of COA from 1993-2006.

Ruth Poland - Bar Harbor. Science teacher at Mount Desert Island High School.  B.S. in Environmental Studies with experience in carbon footprint and energy monitoring work.  



Joe Blotnick - Tremont. Founder of Team New England, Leadership Development Consultants; former University of Maine Extension Agent, Director, University of Rhode Island Environmental Education Center, and Peace Corps volunteer.


Jill Higgins - Tremont. Jill has an M.Ed in Human Development and a wealth of experience in education, organizational development, and community organizing.


Solar Project Manager

Bryan Carroll - Isle au Haut. General Manager of the Isle au Haut Electric Power Co. where he oversees the creation of an off-grid micro-grid. Bryan has 15 years of experience integrating residential, commercial, and community solar throughout New England.